2017 Pro Am

Castle Hill Country Club Mulpha Men’s Pro Am – 16th & 17th October 2017

The 2017 Mulpha Castle Hill Country Club Pro Am was a two day event played on October 16th & 17th.
The professional prize money purse was in excess of $40,000 and was the second highest prize money offering on the PGA tour at the time. Mulpha was again the naming rights sponsor of the tournament having renewed their sponsorship another year which continued their wonderful support of the Club and the Hills Shire. 

Other special activities included: Professional Shootout on the Par 3, 4th hole on the conclusion of play on Day 1, offering a hole in one prize of $10,000 as well as a nearest to pin cash prize of $1,500. There was also a bonus prize of $5,000 for any professional that scored a hole in one over the two days of the pro am.

The winner of the 2017 Pro-Am was veteran professional Anthony Summers who shot a very impressive score of 11 under par 133, four shots clear of second place Brett Rankin who shot a very competitive score of 7 under par 137. Rounding out the top five were Steven Jeffress on 3 under par 141, Damien Jordan on 2 under par 142, Mitchell Brown, Adam Stephens, Matt Stieber and Aaron Townsend on even par 144.

Castle Hill Country Club Mulpha Ladies Pro Am – 16th & 17th January 2017

The 2017 Ladies Pro Am season kicked off again at the renowned Castle Hill Country Club and welcomed back the fantastic sponsorship of Mulpha, driving growth in Norwest’s future and ensuring the tradition of the high standard golfing tournaments continue at Castle Hill Country Club.

Monday evening, the Lady Professionals were invited to compete in the “Nearest the Pin” Shootout with a massive $10,000 hole in one prize up for the taking.  Unfortunately, this prize stayed in the bank with the nearest being 1.9m by Western Australian Professional Nadine Smith. Nadine took home the prize of a $1,000 voucher provided by sponsor Robert Cliff Master Jewellers. The windy conditions made the event tricky and in a fun twist two local Junior boys, Jarryd aged 9 and Ryan 11 were invited to try the shot. Jarryd had an amazing shot, hitting it to 1m from the pin with the Lady Professionals and spectators all breaking into a roar of cheers and applause. 

Tuesday saw 84 Lady Professionals, representing 19 countries, and 100+ amateurs tee it up in hot, humid and windy conditions where the temperature peaked at 42 degrees on the picture perfect and manicured Castle Hill layout. The prize purse for Professionals was $25,000 with a Hole in One prize of $5,000 on the 4th and also a Hole in One chance on the 11th where a new Club Car Golf Cart was up for grabs.

The morning field found the best of the days’ weather conditions and saw 11 Professionals hit par or better. The afternoon was a much tougher task for the players as the wind and heat picked up but still 6 Professionals were at par or better despite the heatwave conditions.

The overall winner was Brisbane born Emily McLennan winning her first event in her rookie ALPG year with an awesome round of 5 under par. The 22-year old shot an outstanding round of 69 to take the title by one shot from one of the three Rio Olympians in the field, Switzerland’s Fabienne In-Albon.  Former NSW Women’s Open Champion Sarah Oh finished alone in 3rd place after shooting a 3 under par 71, the best round of the afternoon field. Emily received her first ever professional winner’s cheque of $3,750.00 and Fabienne In-Albon (Switzerland) took home the second place cheque of $2,500.00.

The team prizes, consisting of best two of the 4 scores of both Amateurs and Professionals, were hotly contested as usual with the morning spoils going to Janine Sayer, Darren Pressley, Ben Thompson and Professional Stephanie Delgreco (America) with a sharp score of 90.  The winners of the morning’s single event for the women was CHCC Member Janine Sayer and for the Men another CHCC Member Bob White.

The afternoon also saw another winning score of 90 points take the prize by team of Christine Shin, Janet Shin and Professionals Gemma Dryburgh (Scotland) and Amy Walsh (Queensland). Winning the afternoon single event was CHCC Member Karen Gilvear for the ladies and Glen Besgrove for the men.

Past Winner of the Tournament include:

2016      Cathryn Bristow (NZ)              67 (7 Under)
2015       Marion Ricordeau (France)    70 (4 under)
2014       Kylie Walker (Scotland)         67 (4 under0
2011        Bree Arthur (QLD)                  70 (4 under)
2009      Tamara Beckett (QLD)           72 (2 under)
2008      Angela Tait (VIC)                   70 (4 under)
2007       Nikki McConnell (NSW)        73 (3 under par)
2006       Shani Waugh (WA)                70 (4 under par)

Past Pro Am Wrap Ups and Winners

Wrap and the winners details of the 2018 Pro-Am

Wrap and the winners details of the 2016 Pro-Ams

Wrap up and winners details of the 2015 Pro-Ams

Wrap up and winners details from the 2014 Pro-Ams